Post(s) tagged with "alumni"

AFI Alum Gideon Raff Wins Peabody Award for HOMELAND

It was announced today that HOMELAND, with AFI Alumni Gideon Raff (AFI Class of 2003) as Executive Producer, is one of the recipients of a 71st Peabody Award.

The HOMELAND series was a recipient of a 2011 AFI AWARD this year.

The Peabodys, the oldest awards in broadcasting, are considered among the most prestigious and selective prizes in electronic media. The Peabody Awards recognize excellence and meritorious work by radio and television stations, networks, webcasters, producing organizations and individuals. The 16-member Peabody Board is a distinguished panel of television critics, industry practitioners and experts in culture and the arts. Selection is made by the Board following review by special screening committees of UGA faculty, students, and staff.

The awards announced today will be formally presented at a luncheon ceremony at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City on May 21. Sir Patrick Stewart, star of two Peabody winners, Star Trek: The Next Generation and Macbeth, will be the host. 

News from the 33rd College Television Awards

AFI alum Steffen Schier (AFI Class of 2011) won 2nd place for Best Drama for producing the film BOSCO’S GUITAR. Other AFI Conservatory 2011 alumni affiliated with the film are Matt Handy (director), Kelly Rothberger (screenwriter), Dru Mungai (cinematography), Ruben Sebban (editor) and Kevin Houlihan (production designer). 

Justin Edwards (AFI Class of 2011), who produced and wrote COME BACK TO ME, won the award for Best Use of Music. 

AFI alum Julian Higgins (AFI Class of 2010, 38th Student Academy Award winner for THIEF, and last year’s 1st Place Drama winner at the College Television Awards) spoke Saturday night at the ceremony and announced he directed an episode of HOUSE, M.D. which aired this week Fox.

Congratulations to all our AFI Conservatory alumni for their recognition at this year’s College Television Awards!

AFI Alumni Robert Richardson Wins Academy Award

Congratulations to AFI Conservatory alum Robert Richardson (AFI Class of 1979) for his Oscar win in Cinematography for HUGO.  
Last year, AFI Conservatory alum Wally Pfister (AFI Class of 1988) took home the award for INCEPTION.

AFI Alumni Win WGA and Eddie Awards

Congratulations to AFI Alumni Gideon Raff (AFI Class of 2003) and Steven Rasch, A.C.E. (AFI Class of 1998) for their recent award winning work! Gideon Raff won a WGA Award in the new series category for HOMELAND and Steven Rasch won an A.C.E. Eddie Award for CURB YOUR ENTHUSIASM: “Palestinian Chicken,” in the category of Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television.

AFI Alumni Winners at Sundance 2012

Congratulations to AFI Alumni Kirby Dick of THE INVISIBLE WAR, the Sundance Audience Award winner for U.S. Documentary, and Tobias Datum & Linda Sena of SMASHED, U. S. Dramatic Special Jury Prize for Excellence in Independent Film Producing!

AFI Conservatory Win at Sundance 2012

Congratulations to AFI Conservatory alumni with award-winning films at the Sundance 2012 Film Festival!
— BEASTS OF THE SOUTHERN WILD, Grand Jury Prize Winner (the festival’s top prize) - Affonso Goncalves, AFI Editing Class of 1993

— THE RETURN, Jury Prize for International Narrative Short Film - Sevdije Kastrati, AFI Cinematography Class of 2011

— NOBODY WALKS, U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Prize for Excellence in Independent Film Producing - Linda Sena, AFI Production Design Class of 2001

This is the second consecutive year that AFI Conservatory alum have been affiliated with the top prize winning film at Sundance.  Last year, LIKE CRAZY – Drake Doremus (AFI Directing Class of 2005), John Gulesarian (AFI Cinematography Class of 2005) and Jonathan Alberts (AFI Editing Class of 2001) – took home the top prize.

Patty Jenkins Wins DGA Award for THE KILLING

Congratulations to AFI Alum Patty Jenkins, who won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series for the AMC television drama THE KILLING!

AFI Alumni Nominated for the 84th Academy Awards

We are very proud to congratulate our AFI Alumni that have been nominated for the 84th ANNUAL ACADEMY AWARDS!

Terrence Malick (D ‘69), Director/Writer
Best Director (Nominee)
Robert Richardson (C ‘79), Cinematographer
Cinematography (Nominee)
Janusz Kaminski (C ‘87), Director of Photography
Cinematography (Nominee)
Rebecca Cammisa (DWW ‘03), Producer/Director
Documentary Short (Nominee)

AFI Alumni Golden Globes Winners and Nominees

We are so proud of our Conservatory Alumni who were were nominated for and winners of Golden Globes!

For Best TV Series -Drama:

HOMELAND - Gideon Raff, Executive Producer (Winner)

AMERICAN HORROR STORY - Bradley Buecker, Co- Executive Producer, Dante Di Loreto, Brad Falchuk, Executive Producers (Nominees)

For Best TV Series -Comedy:

GLEE - Bradley Buecker, Co- Executive Producer, Dante Di Loreto, Brad Falchuk, Executive Producers (Nominees)

Congratulations to our AFI Alumni!

Director/screenwriter Tate Taylor visited the AFI Campus yesterday during the first Harold Lloyd Master Seminar of the school year for a screening of THE HELP and a discussion with AFI Fellows.


AFI is America’s promise to preserve the history of the motion picture, to honor the artists and their work and to educate the next generation of storytellers. AFI provides leadership in film, television and digital media and is dedicated to initiatives that engage the past, the present and the future of the moving image arts.

As a non-profit educational and cultural organization open to the public, AFI relies on the generous financial support from moving arts enthusiasts like you to provide funding for its programs and initiatives. Become a member today and support your American Film Institute!


American Film Institute

AFI FEST presented by Audi

AFI Conservatory

AFI Silver Theatre

AFI Docs